Definite Purpose

Strength and growth come only through continuous effort and struggle. – Napoleon Hill

What do you really want to achieve in life? Would it be better if you have clarity in your life purpose? Would it help if you are focused in a singular pursuit of excellence?

Napoleon Hill, author of Think and Grow Rich, always emphasized on the definiteness of purpose. You must have definite goal to succeed.

What is your definite purpose?

For me, it is about writing this blog. But what is it that I am trying to achieve? All this time, I write as and when there is something that catches my attention.

I want to impart knowledge. Of the things I read. Of the things I heard. Of the things I experienced. So that it may help you in one way or another.

I want to be a good writer. I want to be interesting. That my writings is witty. And full of poetry.

Once I knew what is it that I want to achieve, things do get a little easier to achieve.

I want to impart knowledge. This is simple.  Find a topic, and think of 3 actionable, step-by-step approach. Knowledge is potential power, until it finds a way to be acted upon. Applied knowledge is power; knowledge is not.

I want to be a good writer. This is simple too, although it won’t be easy. Writing is a learn-able skill, just like any skills in life. Some people may be gifted in this area. For the rest of people, including yours truly, it only means one thing – freaking, hard work. We have to work hard for it. Write every single day. Read more. Learn poetry and other people’s writings.

Once you have definite purpose, things look clearer now. You know how to focus on your energy. You have a direction now. You don’t feel so much stress. You don’t feel like you are being pulled in a thousand directions.

What is your definite purpose?

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

