Standard Chartered Marathon 2016

I loved the feeling of freedom in running, the fresh air, the feeling that the only person I’m competing with is me. – Wilma Rudolph

It’s Standard Marathon Singapore 2016 tomorrow. I’ve registered for Full Marathon but decided not to run.

Had fever last weekend and still recuperating. Still coughing and feeling lethargic.

My friends said, “Go run! Don’t quit! Don’t give up!”

My family said, “Don’t run! Health and safety first!”

Conflicting suggestions. Externally and internally.

My ego wanted to run. But my health said otherwise.

Living a good life is about choosing your battles wisely. You don’t have to step into every single battle. If the odds are against you, just step back. Admit defeat and come back another day.

If you are considering extreme sports, always take precaution. Your health and safety comes first, no matter what. Even if your competitive nature pushes you to the limit.

Smart people consider their limits and act wisely. Ignorant people ignore their limits recklessly.

For now, I would rest well. And sign up for another run another day.

 

Meng

 

 

Leave a Reply

