Justify

Those who lack the courage will always find a philosophy to justify it. -Albert Camus

How frequent do you say this?

I was bypassed for a much deserved promotion, given to a much junior colleague because he knows how to curry favor the manager. Or she is a pretty, young lady.

Or, I couldn’t save any money for investment because I am paying down the mortgage. Or the credit card bills. Or that well-deserved year-end holiday.

Or, I couldn’t go back to school for my masters degree. Because I am just too old. Or I just don’t have the time. Or I just don’t have brain capacity to learn.

If you were to look at the “reasons” given, you would now see that they are merely excuses.

Yes, they are valid reasons. Each person’s circumstances are unique. You know yourself better. Who am I to say that your reasons given is invalid?

I also know that if you want something bad enough, you would find a way to get it.

It is a matter of determination. If your determination is high, you will find a way to achieve. Your obstacles may still remain the same, your reasons may still be valid.

Your reasons may still remain. But for next 30 days, don’t justify for any inactions or actions that you weren’t proud of.

Think before you speak out the “because“. Be silent if you felt the urge to justify.

Let your actions shine. Let it speak louder than words, especially on the word “because“.

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

