Work Towards Inspiration

I can’t change the direction of the wind, but I can adjust my sails to always reach my destination. – Jimmy Dean

When will I be inspired to write an article? When would I be inspired to create the next big post?

In reality, it’s not like I have to wait for the durian to fall. Things don’t work like that.

If I were to wait, it would have been forever before I can get a single post out.

I would have come up with nothing.

Instead of waiting, I should actively pursue.

I should just keep writing. And writing. And writing.

Once I’ve started to warm up, inspiration comes to me.

Just like driving a car. You would turn on the engine, let it warm up before you speed it off.

Why do we have to wait for inspiration?

Because it is easy to do so. Waiting is justifiable. We wouldn’t be punished if we can’t come up with any ideas.

We are still waiting.

But waiting is a crime. Waiting is procrastination. Waiting steals us of our time, of our energy, of our motivation.

Let’s stop waiting. And start doing.

Even a doodle. Or even a mindless post like this.

Just keep writing. And start doing. And inspiration would come to you.

Have you ever found yourself waiting for inspiration? Why not just start doing?

Consider yourself doing some preparation work. A prep exercise of perhaps a 5 to 10 minute drill.

Once you are fully accustomed to it, you will be more relaxed and ideas would be overflowing to you.

Give it a try. Life is all about experimenting and finding the best approach for you.
Meng

Leave a Reply

