Night Hiking

If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the results of a hundred battles. – Sun Tzu

Recent interest was to check meetup apps to see if there is any interesting activity to pursue.

One of the interesting ones I had joined was a two-way night trail from Bukit Panjang to McRitchie.

Personally, I had a fear of heights.

And there was a few stretches along the railway track that is on overhead bridge.

A narrow railway track.

As fear rises, I remember a quote from Tony Robbin.

He was learning speed racing. As his car slips, he would see the incoming wall. Instead, his instructor would say,”Focus on the road, not on the wall!

It was instinct to focus on what we fear on.

And so, as it was pitch dark walking there, I won’t be seeing anything except for where my torchlight flashed on.

And so,  I chose to flash on the route ahead.

The keyword here is chose. I chose to see where I want to see.

Either I chose to be paralysed by fear, or I chose an action that would reduce the fear.

Even if I walked slower – much, much slower than the rest of the hikers, at least I was doing the best as I could – moving forward, one step at a time.

In life, what are the things that you fear? What do you focus on? The fear that you desperately avoid? Or the direction that you want to go? Make the right decision and choose wisely.

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

