Shadowing

The best way a mentor can prepare another leader is to expose him or her to other great people. – John C. Maxwell

 

One of the best ways to learn is to imitate.

To follow the master and see how they work.

To follow steps by steps of what the mentors are doing.

To immerse in the culture, the spirit, the thinking of the experts.

Instead of re-inventing the wheels, just do the same steps.

Follow the blueprints.

I was lucky. For I don’t have one mentor. Not two.  Not three.

But practically the whole of the team.

Each person has something to teach me.

The product engineers teach me on product setup.

The process engineers teach me on the process.

The managers guide me on the presentation skills.

The technicians coach me on hands-on.

The supervisors train me on interpersonal skills when dealing with production workers.

For the first few years, as a matter of facts, up to this time, I am still a learner. A student. Learning from them.

All in all, there is no one personal mentor. Some successful people would swear on one mentor who guided them to success.

For me. I am greedy. Each and everyone can teach me something.

Teaching me of the good things I want to achieve.

Teaching me of the bad things, reminder of what I should not do.

Who would you shadow today? What is the one skills that you want to improve upon? Who can provide the skillset to you – whether they teach you or they show it?
Meng

Leave a Reply

