Worrisome me

Life is too short to worry about anything. You had better enjoy it because the next day promises nothing. – Eric Davis

 

What would they think of me?
Would my presentation flop?
Would the girl reject my invitation to dinner?
Would I get heart attack?
Would I fail my exam?
Would this business opportunity turn out to be a scam?
Would my holiday ruined with me getting sick?

There’s plenty of things going on in your head right now. And like most people, it isn’t necessarily all pleasant.

Jim Rohn once said that worry is the killer of dreams.

Worry would paralyze our actions, leaving us unable to take any action.

Stress is a distant cousin, lurking in the corner, waiting for a chance to pounce on you once worry has captured your heart.

I admit,  I am in worry now.
I was in worry in the past.
And I predict I will be in worry in the future.

How do we manage our worry?

Firstly, identify if our worry is based on things within our control. If we worry about our weight, we can take action by exercising and eating healthily. If we worry our plane crashing, we can’t really control the situation.

Secondly, if our worry has basis. Check the facts and evidence to see if our worry has basis.

Finally, consider the worst case scenario. What would happen if the girl reject your invitation to dinner? Would it be the end of the world? The worst that could happen is probably you would be a bit embarrassed and had your ego bruised. Other than that, it is all perfectly fine with you.

Not all worry is necessarily bad. Worry may spur us to take action.

Worry of dying would make us live a better lifestyle.
Worry of failing would make us study or work harder.
Worry of disappointing our loved ones make us live a more a fulfilling life.

Worry may be good, worry may be bad.

It is how we perceive the worry in the first place, and how we follow up with the worry with our actions are the things that would make a difference.

Are you worrying anything right now? Is it within your control? Is it backed with facts? What is the worst case it could be?

Live a better life, and keep your worry under control.

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

