Splendid Ideas from Dreams

Memory has always been fundamental for me. In fact, remembering what I had forgotten is the way most of the poems get started. – Seamus Heaney

Have you ever dreamed of a marvelous idea? A breakthrough in science or literature?

Or some wonderful phrases that you want to say in a special event?

Or a great topic for your blog?

It was all in your mind, and you knew it perfectly then.

And then what happened?

The moment you wake up, everything was gone. You can’t remember a single detail of your dream. You only knew a fleeting memory of its existence.

Which torments you for you knew there was something so great, and yet you couldn’t use it.

I know, because I just experienced it this morning. I had a good dream, of a great blog post that I wanted to share. And yet, I conveniently forgotten all about it.

Instead of beating myself to it, a more pragmatic way is to think, “What can I do with this?”

The simplest way is of course to record it down, the moment you have the A-Ha moment.

Have a pen and notepad by your bedside. Jot them down.

Have a voice recorder with you. Record it down.

Speak it out loud, repeat a few times. Engrave it into your subconscious and your memory.

What method do you use? How effective are they? Share your thoughts. I could use a little bit of help here.

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

