Swimming and Michael Phelps

Strength and growth come only through continuous effort and struggle. – Napoleon Hill

Just back from a swimming lesson. It was tiring, doing drills on breast-stroke style.

My friends have started learning freestyles while I am still stuck at breast-stroke.

Although I still couldn’t swim properly, I was making progress as compared to a few weeks ago, when I first started. I just needed more practice.

And guidance.

Which is why I have deep respect to those who can swim well.

And amazing athlete in the swimming arena. Like Michael Phelps.

Which is why, the news of him being caught driving under influence came as a shock.

I condemn drink driving.

But I still have full respect to Michael.

He did what a celebrated athlete, what a gentleman should be doing – admit his weakness, admit his mistakes and resolves to overcome it.

Admitting mistakes is not a sign of weakness.

It is a show of strength. And courage.

Only then, would one has the power to change his circumstances.

As dedicated a person is, he may still be swayed by influences and bad judgments. Therefore, one should always be vigilant. Stay true to one’s values.

Despite all the societal pressure and the limelight on him on this recent episode, he remains focused on improving himself. That’s what separates successful persons from the average people.

With this, I would sincerely wish him all the best.

And hope to see him in competitive swimming arena soon.

What would you do if you were in his shoes?

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

