Competence and Confidence

If you have no confidence in self, you are twice defeated in the race of life. – Marcus Garvey

My colleagues went for their well-deserved one-week holidays.

And I have to back them up for that duration. As emails began coming in, sweat started to flow down my forehead.

And I started to doubt myself.

What am I supposed to do? 

I don’t know anything.

How do I follow up with their tasks?

I am incapable.

What do I really know about it?

The mere thoughts of all the tasks put a stop on my track. I was worried sick.

I realized that I have no confidence.

Competence breeds confidence. So my real issue here is lack of competence.

Ouuch.

My friend, seeing me being so  nervous, taught me a method:

Get a piece of paper.
Writing down is easier to your brain and mind than remembering them.

Write out the task on top.
This will be your focus of the task at hand.

What are the things needed to be done in sequence?
When listed the action items in sequence, you can work on them one-by-one. Preferably, it is in actionable, bite-size item.

Did you have the know-how about them?
Competence breeds confidence. At least you would know what are things you know and what that are lacking.

Where can you find the information?
For the lack of information, the source is usually the other colleagues, shared drives, or even the Google.

What are things that you need?
List out the possible tools or approvals needed to proceed.

After listing things down, my friend said : stop worrying, get your butt off the chair and start working on it, one-by-one.

Which I totally agreed.

Once I offloaded the tasks from my mind, I can start to think clearer now. And proceed with my tasks, calmer.

As a friend said: Can you do something about it? If yes, no worries. If can’t, worrying can’t help you too.

Are you worrying about things in life?

How about you trying out the method? See if it helps you in any way?

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

