International Friendship Day and Regrets

Remember, the pain of rejection is nothing compared to the pain of regret. – Matthew Hussey

It was International Friendship Day on Sunday. I didn’t know about it until I saw the event underwent at National Library.

All in all, it was a good event. Plenty of interactions, showcases of the cultures of international friends in Singapore.

However, the one thing I wanted to say is the regret.

The regret of not making the first move.

The regret of not making any move at all.

Saw a pretty girl who participated in the event. Wanted to get to know her, but I was shy to do so.

It was, afterall, International Friendship Day. What better time it was than to make new friends, duh?

I even read Matt’s quote at that point of time. Okay, I thought – the event was from 2pm to 6pm. Plenty of time, I guessed.

Delay, delay, delay. Always waiting for the perfect moment to say “Hi”.

Alas, time passed by and it was 5:30pm. Took up my courage and looked around.

She was gone.

Gone.

No longer there.

Now I understand the pain of regret.

And the importance of speed in action.

What is the one thing that you know you should be taking action of? But you didn’t? And you regretted about it for the chance has slipped? Please act upon it, and don’t regret about it like I did.

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

