Active Listening

I remind myself every morning: Nothing I say this day will teach me anything. So if I’m going to learn, I must do it by listening. – Larry King

I thought I was listening. I was wrong.

If you asked me what did I learn from anything that I had listened to, I would say none. Ashamed to admit, but it’s true.

First step to improving oneself is by having the awareness.

Instead of listening, we should practise active listening. What’s active listening?

It’s about taking notes – either mental notes or jotting it down.

It’s about being attentive – full attention on the person conveying the message.

Most important of all, it’s about information retention of what you have listened to. What do you recall at the end of the day?

Are you listening attentively today?

 

Meng

Leave a Reply

